This time a dad: “Why some Consider My Son’s Killers, Heroes.” – by Daniel Marco

FOSAD-z1ch1r6_m1rc4
Part of my journey, my evolution, is dealing with particularly upsetting moments in the months after Zachary’s murder.  I do not mean, in any sense, to fan the flames of prejudice, that is NOT my intent.  The website shown above, and others, are now a part of my psyche, a part what I am recovering from, a part, now, of who I am. The photo above, with my son’s face between and behind the two men who killed him, haunts me.
FOSAD-z1ch1r6_m1rc4-aaCan you imagine, sitting at your computer, researching the media coverage of your son’s death, trying to see what the rest of the world saw, and this, this is what you stumble on.  Your son’s murderers proclaimed a hero by a percentage of the African-American community, in the war for reparations.  The creators of this blog, The National Black Soldier Network, posted this on the same day the Tempe Police announced the arrest; the one month anniversary of my son’s brutal death, two minutes after the press conference.
I will, in a later post, describe my experiences in the media, that part of the story is yet to be told, but suffice it to say, when I threw myself out there, I assumed that all of the negative coverage would be aimed at me, not my son. This was particularly heartbreaking.   What really bothered me were the comments posted in the site:

FOSAD-z1ch1r6_m1rc4-a

What they failed to understand is that by killing my son, the black community lost someone who would have been, one of their greatest advocates.   Zachary, when it came to judging others, was absolutely color blind; he judged people on their drive, motivation, whether they tried to be their best.  He was studying philosophy and concluded that only acts in furtherance of the greater good were acts worth making, and if someone did things that were not in the interest of the greater good, he did not waste his time with them.  He grew up watching his father and grandfather, and uncles and cousins, fight for the civil rights and due process rights of all Americans, no matter race, creed, color or economic wealth.  We represented poor people and for the most part, we tried to make a difference; Zachary would have made a difference.

Leave a Reply

